Considering the purchase of a Canon 60D

edited April 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
I want a camera that shoots nice clear photos inside and out. I have a Nikon Coolpix S9100 and a Canon Powershot SX10IS, but I am not happy with either. I am thinking a Canon 60D would be just right. This is just for family shots, scrapbooks mostly. I am not experienced, but it looks like the Canon 60D is good for a point and shoot automatic focus and gives lots of room to learn to use features.

The other cameras gave some good pictures, but indoor shots often were not focused. It may be operator error, but we want a better camera and think it is time for a single lense reflex. I know Nikon has a similar camera. Of course, then we need to figure out what lense to get. I also enjoy shooting birds in the backyard and would like a telephoto of some sort. Your thoughts? - Roger

Comments

• Howdy @Roger - I always tell prospective buyers to first find an appropriate lens and then spend the remaining budget on a DSLR and possibly even an external speedlite (flash) if most of your shots are indoors. Over the course of your photographic journey you'll tend to hang on to your favorite lenses (and speedlites), while upgrading from one DSLR to another. If you can give me a ballpark budget, I can recommend some lenses and speedlites to take a loot at. Happy shooting! :)
  • edited March 2012
    Whatever I can afford and whatever makes sense. $5000 doesn't make sense. Half that, maybe. I don't need professional stuff, but I believe it is time to buy quality.

If I had done this in the first place I would have $1200 to spend (the amount of my other two cameras). I also had another somewhat expensive Nikon Coolpix that quit working. I don't want to buy any more cameras after this one.