Nikon AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 lens

edited July 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I am considering buying a D3200 that includes this lens. Is this an old lens, and how does it compare with the 55-300mm? Does it have to say it is VR or can I assume it is? As you can probably tell, I am a complete newbie. I've noticed some of the lenses say AF-S and others just AF? Can you enlarge upon that? I don't know what the 'S' implies? Also, I have no idea what the term 'grey market' refers to. Thanks very much!
G1ttargirl

Comments

• edited July 2015
    AFS has a motor built into the lens. If you do not know what it is, do not assume anything. If no VR is specified, there will not be any VR. A VR lens will always say wnen it's got VR.

Just plain AF or AFD will almost certainly be the older style AF which has no motor in the lens and requires a motor in the camera. The D3200 will not auto focus with older "screwdriver" AF lenses, but it will meter. The only DX format cameras with motors to drive older lenses are the D7xxx family. D3xxx and D5xxx can auto focus only with AFS and AFI lenses.

The D3xxx and D5xxx family also will mount but will not meter with any lens that does not have AF electronics. It will function in manual mode, but no meter and no AF will apply.

Basically, do not assume any lens has newer features if they are not specified.

I'm not sure which 70-300 lens is in question here. I have the AF-D 70-300 ED lens, which is screwdriver focus, and was, in its day, relatively inexpensive but quite decent. I use this on my old F4, but found that it was not quite as handy as the 55-300 DX lens that is correct for the D3200, so I got one of those and am quite happy with it. Not only does it AF correctly, but the VR is very effective.