Scenery/Landscape Shots

edited July 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi I am new! I just got the Nikon D3200 and I seem to only understand Auto mode. I like to take pictures of the scenery when I go to parks, the beach or any type of landscape, and I want to become really good at doing it (just for myself). I use the regular kit lens 18-55mm but I'm not good at it. I've tried figuring my way with A mode and M mode but I'm no good! My scenery shots in either mode seem to be too bright. The grass is very green and my subject isn't my main focus. Even when I turn the dial for the f stop to say 3.5 or 4, my subject is a little more focused with the background kind of a blur but still too bright. I take either scenery pictures or pictures of my dog! He's my main subject but either mode is too bright. I'm unsure what setting I should be on or if I need to adjust white balance, ISO and all of the other stuff too? I would love some tips and help because I'm going to this really neat park again Saturday and want to be able to get really awesome pictures this time! Any advice is appreciated kindly.

Comments

• edited July 2015
    Make sure the lens is actually auto focusing, that the switch on the lens is set to A and to VR. Do not ever try to manually focus the lens when it's set to A or it will break.