Settings for sporting events

edited June 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I am new to this camera and very excited. My main purpose is to shoot my children's sporting events - indoor basketball, football, softball games at night and cheerleading. My question is, between the 18-55mm and 55-200mm, which is the better lens to use? What's the best setup for inside a gym and outside under baseball field lights?

Comments

• edited June 2015
    The biggest difference here will be in framing, as the lenses behave much the same in other respects. Your best bet here is to go out with your camera and aim it at things. Determine what you want to take a picture of and how close you are going to be to it. If things are fairly close and you want a wide view, use the short lens. If things are far away and you want a narrow view, use the long one. Practice a lot. Shoot and erase, and shoot and erase. Try things out.

Remember too that your eye and brain can pick out a subject in a way that a photograph cannot. Your field of view is very wide, yet you can mentally zoom in on a subject. Often when you take a picture, what seemed like a prominent subject turns out to look small and distant. Dig in a bit. The DSLR has no "digital zoom", but you can crop in post processing (especially if you shoot in RAW or largest JPG mode). Try, though, to get the picture without cropping it later.