What accessories do I need for my D3100?

edited April 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hey guys, I just ordered my D3100 and I was wondering what are the must have accessories to buy apart from the case and tripod.

Comments

• edited April 2015
    Spare memory, spare battery if possible, and if you can find one, a functional lens hood. That latter, not strictly necessary, will help reduce flare and contrast loss in difficult light.
  • edited April 2015
    Ok, I bought a 64g sd card, an extra battery, and I'm getting my lens hood and UV lens protector soon. Thanks @bruto.
  • edited April 2015
    Hello. I purchased my D3100 camera about two years ago. I'm just starting out and because of real life, I haven't been able to be very serious about photography. I need some advice. I bought the camera that had the 18-55mm lens. I just keep thinking that I need another lens. All I'm interested in taking pictures of is old houses, barns, old windmills, old retro signs etc. You get the general idea. Do I even need another lens, especially since I'm just beginning? If so, which one? Something that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Also, I'm not in this for the money, just for my personal enjoyment. So, does anyone like me need to use a light room or photo shop? I would appreciate any advice.
  • edited April 2015
    My advice would be to look at what you've gotten so far, and try to determine what, if anything, is lacking or in need of improvement. New equipment is great fun, and if you're a gadget lover there's something to be said for having lots of gadgets, but from the creative standpoint, it won't do a lick of good unless it actually does something you want to do but can't.

The 18-55mm kit lens is decently sharp, and covers a pretty good range of focal lengths, and can deliver very good pictures when what you want is within its range.