Raw or JPEG?

edited March 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I did the utter most mistake taking indoor pictures yesterday - I forgot to change my ISO and it was high and now I have some grainy pictures. Lesson learned.

However, I was shooting in the RAW. I am still learning about this. Which is better to shoot with, Raw or Jpeg?

Thanks!

Comments

• edited March 2015
    Raw is almost always preferable if you have any intention of post processing or cropping. Many of the camera's settings are applied not to the raw image but to the JPG overlay which is what you see when the image is displayed. Because of this, a program that reads raw files can modify those settings without any loss, and with the chance of completely loss free reversal. Changes of white balance, picture control and exposure (+ or - two stops each way) are available only for raw files.
    Now that memory and computer storage have become relatively cheap, the added bulk of raw files is little disadvantage. You can read them in dedicated Nikon software or in various programs such as Lightroom, and even in some of the free viewers such as Irfanview or Faststone, and do bulk conversions to JPG without disturbing the originals.

The View NX2 program that comes with the D3200 does some of these things, and only Nikon software can handle active D-lighting correctly. If you do not use a Nikon program you're probably best off leaving active D-lighting off in the camera if you shoot raw.

View NX2 does no noise reduction, but there are other programs that can help. Among them is the free Nikon Capture NX-D program you can download from Nikon's web site. It duplicates much of what View NX2 does, but adds some features, including a noise reduction function with a number of variables.