Tripod recommendations

edited March 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I am all excited that I found Moose's page and I am getting all packed up with my D3100. I purchased 2 cheat sheets already but I need a tripod. I want to know what you friends recommend for me. I am new to this and want to get all the gear needed little by little. I appreciate your help and can't wait to start using my camera. I bought it in 2011 and I'm barely getting ready to really put it to use. Shame on me for not using it before, but thanks to Moose, he really inspired me to get it out.

Comments

• edited March 2015
    The subject of tripods is fraught with variation and argument. As a sort of general rule for serious photographers, the rule is that a tripod will outlast several generations of equipment, and that if you start with a cheap one you'll end up getting better anyway, so splurge now.

That, of course, is not a course everyone can follow, because very good tripods are shockingly expensive.

Because the D3100 is fairly light, you can get away with something fairly light, especially if you don't expect to be using it on windy mountaintops and the like. These days many better stores have relatively inexpensive good tripods, some made in China that are decent copies of much more expensive European ones. It's hard to make a specific recommendation, but I will suggest a couple of things.

First, if at all possible, avoid the cheap chain store kind with stamped aluminum legs and leg braces. They will be flimsy, hard to operate fast, and lacking in versatility.

Also, avoid if possible video heads that pan and tilt, but do not offer a conveniently variable horizon. In order to get a level shot with these, you must adjust the legs. Since you probably wont, or won't have the time, you will end up with tilted horizons!