Night shot with no flash

edited February 2015 Posted in » General Discussion
I am a total newbie, so sorry if this is an obvious issue. Last night the moon was reflecting on the Gulf of Mexico. I wanted a picture of the moon, water, and a bit of foreground in silhouette. I couldn't figure out how to take the shot without flash. Help?

Comments

• edited February 2015
    Take the camera out of automatic mode to P,A,S or M, and the flash will no longer be automatic. In those modes it will not pop up. You must actuate it manually if you want it. When you do actuate it, it works, and acts as a fill flash.

You can use Aperture priority mode and let the camera choose the shutter speed. If the ISO is set to automatic, it will up the ISO as needed whenever your shutter speed goes below 1/30, allowing you to hand hold. It might get noisy in dark areas when the ISO goes too high. It's necessary if you have no tripod. If you have a tripod turn auto ISO off, put the ISO low, and let the shutter be as slow as it cares to be. One possibility might be to try the shot in A mode since depth of field is your primary goal here, and A mode allows you to determine that. Review the shot, and see if it is too bright. The meter will try to make everything look like daytime, even in the night. Now you can use the exposure compensation button to darken it. Go in the Minus (-) direction here. Keep on going until it's what you want. You can also do this in manual mode, shortening shutter speed to make the shot darker, but you must turn auto ISO off or the meter will keep overriding your decision.