Action lens for horse photography

edited January 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello,

I'm just starting out with a Nikon D3200, and my subject of interest is action photography with horses (show jumpers, dressage, etc). I'm trying to decide what my next lens purchase should be for these outdoor events. The lighting is not always consistent, so I need something that would be able to shoot in both low and high light settings. Trying to find the best lens that will deliver great/sharp images. Keep in mind, I cannot get physically close to my subjects, so the I will need a lens that works well in a stadium type atmosphere - like a soccer field.

Any thoughts? Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• edited January 2015
    You didn’t mention your budget, but I’ll list out the list of Nikkor lenses that are at least in my opinion priced relatively reasonably. The list goes from least to most expensive. There’s no real dud among this crowd; they’re all optically fine lenses. Just be aware of the max apertures and focal lengths.

55-200mm f/4-5.6
    This is a budget telephoto lens. Unless you really value the small size and weight, I would skip this one. Just pay a tiny bit more to get the next lens on this list.

55-300mm f/4.5-5.6
    Another budget telephoto lens. Pretty much the same as the one above but this goes to 300mm. Just slightly larger and more expensive than the one above, so definitely get this one if you’re on a tight budget. Be aware that you may struggle with this lens in low-light due to the small variable aperture.

70-200mm f/4
    Prices start to bump up now (along with size and weight). The 70-200mm is a staple of every sports shooter. The constant f/4 helps keep exposure constant and while it’s not the largest of apertures; it’s often sufficient for stadium lights.

300mm f/4