50mm f/1.8G AF-S

edited December 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I just bought the D3200 kit 3 weeks ago which has 2 kit lenses. I was thinking about buying a prime lens (50mm f/1.8G AF-s). I went to a camera store and they were suggesting I should get the 50mm f/1.8D AF. As far as me being a beginner photographer, I believe that the AF lens only allows manual focus. Also, is it worth to invest on a 50mm f/1.8G AF-S lens?

Thank you

Comments

• edited December 2014
    Indeed, the f/1.8D lens will not allow you to autofocus on your camera body. Definitely get the f/1.8G lens if picking between the two.
    Is getting a 50mm prime lens worth it? This is subjective, but yes, I think so. The other lens you might want to consider is the 35mm f/1.8G DX. It's similarly priced to the 50mm, but offers a slightly wider (possibly more useful) field of view, especially on a crop sensor body.
  • edited December 2014
    Thank you for your comment. Now you've given me a dilemma. I was thinking about buying the 50mm but based on what you said, I think I have to do some research again on the 35mm.
  • edited December 2014
    Both are excellent lenses and favorably reviewed by all. It's certainly not unheard of for a Nikon DX shooter to have both these lenses.
    If you get both, then it's arguable that you no longer need a normal zoom lens such as your kit 18-55mm or the more expensive f/2.8 lenses such as the Nikkor 17-55mm or the Sigma/Tamron 17-50mm.

If you must choose one, then simply pick the one with the more useful focal length. Take your 18-55mm and shoot it only at 35mm the whole day. The next day shoot it only at 50mm. Decide which you prefer.
  • edited December 2014
    I have the 35mm prime f/1.8 prime lens. I love it. It opened up a new world for me. I may never use the other zoom lens again. I may get the 55mm prime lens for more close up photos.
    What ever lens you get, you will not be disappointed.
    Rick
  • edited January 2015