Canon 50mm f/1.8 not focusing properly

edited November 2014 Posted in » Canon T3i Forum
I'm having a problem with focus on my T3i and the 50mm f/1.8 lens.

I'm still new to dslr's as we just got ours in April 2014 and this 50mm lens less than a month ago.

I'm mainly taking photos of my 1 year old daughter. I keep the shutter speed high because she's obviously not posing. I know using f/1.8 isn't great so I usually put it at f/4-5.6.

Still, the AF doesn't seem to grab what I'm focusing on. I use the AF setting with the center red dot. I put it on her eyes and take the shot and it usually ends up focusing on her shirt, nose or hand. It's more noticeable the smaller the f number with f/1.8 obviously very noticeable.

I use the highest shutter speed possible and even when I don't care about the white balance and just flash the crap out of it, the focus still doesn't seem to be on point.

I keep ISO at 100 as well and try to shoot mainly in Manual or Aperture modes. Portrait seems to always want to use f/1.8

Any suggestions or things I can try?

Comments

• edited November 2014
    First thing I would do is make sure your autofocus is working correctly. Just line up a couple of items at different distances from you. Photograph each one and see if your focus misses the mark.

Once you've established that your AF is working fine, I have the following suggestions for you:

You mentioned you like to keep your shutter speed as high as possible. With a 1-year-old, I feel like 1/125 is more than adequate unless she's really thrashing about. In those instances, 1/250 is definitely fast enough. The point is to slow down your shutter. It's not necessary to use something like 1/500 or faster. Sports photography are done at those speeds. I'm sure your child is not THAT fast yet. =)