Catching all the details of an agate with a Micro-Nikkor lens 105mm

edited October 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi everybody!

I just bought a AF-S VR Micro lens to catch all the details of the agates I love taking pictures of. I am pretty new to photography, but I'm trying to learn all I can. I have very minimal knowledge of f stops and shutter speed - that is how wet behind the ears I am at photography. Previous to this camera I had a crappy point and shoot camera (to be nice I won't say what brand) that was better suited to taking pictures of people. The D3200 is fun to learn but I was wondering (one of many questions) what are the best DVD's and/or books that could educate me better on how to use this camera to its full advantage? Any good tutorials?

Next question: For taking pictures of small, still subjects with lots of detail (like agates), what is the best way to capture the subject in full detail?

Thank you for your time.
Kelly

Comments

• edited October 2014
    Hi,
    Learning your way round the camera is the easy part and the manual will help you with that. Learning photography - well I have been at it for over 50 years and I'm still learning.
    However, if you want to make the most of your hobby of shooting agates then I would suggest 2 extra pieces of equipment:
    1) A quality tripod
    2) A home product studio. These can be bought fairly cheap or homemade. Basically you have a box with a couple of studio lights attached in which you place your product, in this case agates. The lights can be adjusted to make the most of the product details.
    Mounting your camera on a sturdy tripod will eliminate any worries about shutter speed and blurring.