Focus issues

edited October 2014 Posted in » Nikon Lens Talk
Hi, I am new to still photography though I have quite a bit of knowledge in videography as I have 12 years experience in the latter. I have trouble getting pin sharp images with my D3200, especially landscapes. I have tried right up to f/16 for a shallower depth of field with a tripod, and I have tried with numerous settings but none are what I would call pin sharp. I also tried live view focus, thinking that would get me better results, but it didn't. I have seen images taken with the same camera as mine and they look better than mine (at least on the internet). Is my idea of pin sharp wrong? Am I expecting too much? Any advice would be much appreciated as I am getting very disheartened. Thank you.

Comments

• Upload one of your shots somewhere and share the link so we can see.
    Also share what lens you’re using and your exposure settings.
  • edited October 2014
    I just wrote a long comment which my computer seems to have eaten!

I will try to make it shorter this time. Make sure your camera is set for optimal sharpness.

If you're using the kit lens, set it at f/8, ISO as low as possible, active D lighting off, normal color, RAW image save. Make sure VR is off for tripod shots. I enclosed a couple of casual shots I just took with mine. Kit lens at 35mm, f/8, ISO 400, handheld with VR on. This is what I consider decent normal sharpness (not quite as good as my wife's D7100, but close).

Focus is single point, A mode. First the original shot, taken as RAW, saved here as 1000 pixel JPG at about 50 percent:

https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/1000x665q90/742/CCVr9y.jpg

Next a crop from a 100 percent view in ViewNX2, saved the same way:

https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/1000x675q90/746/jbpnB1.jpg

If you can't get something pretty close to this, I'd suspect that the camera is not adjusted properly, or the lens is not working properly. I get this level without great effort, with multiple lenses.