Nikon D3200 and Jewelry Photography

edited September 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello everyone. I'm new to this website and I seem to be liking it already. I have a lot of jewelry which I want to be selling and I have taken good pictures throughout time but I need to do better. I understand ISO, Shutter Speed, and Aperture but am still learning and I'm very young.

From my photography class, my photography teacher has given me his macro lens from an old camera he had. It is a Nikon AF NIKKOR 35-70mm f/2.8 D lens. It's all manual and when I hold the button on the lens and turn right to go into macro mode on the lens, it says F=35 so I'm assuming that is it's maximum f-stop.

I also have borrowed an external flash. It says it is a Sigma EF-610 DG Super NA-iTTL. Great flash and I'm still learning about it. The D3200 is mine and I also have a tripod. What tips can you give for photographing silver jewelry/gold jewelry with gemstones such as zircon. Also, I have a free alternate photoshop program known as GIMP 2. Am I set?

Comments

• edited September 2014
    I have read that this is a very good lens with decent macro capability and much more than decent freedom from distortion. Your teacher is a very nice person! What you are seeing in the display however, is not the F-stop, but the focal length. This lens goes into macro mode only at a focal length of 35 millimeters. Although focus is manual, it should still meter correctly with your D3200. Make sure that the aperture ring is locked at f/22, and that the little tab on the bottom of the aperture ring is pushing down the corresponding tab on the camera (at about 9 PM as you face the front). Sometimes the lens will lock into place without pushing that tab all the way down, and you will get an error message. Use a fingernail to make sure it's comfortably seated. Since 35mm gives normal perspective on a DX camera, it should make for good looking macro pictures.