D3200 for taking shots of jewelry

Is the D3200 a good camera for taking shots of jewelry? Is the 18-55mm the right lens for it? If not, then which one?

I have no photography experience but I need to take nice photos of jewelry, so I'm going to get that table top studio from mystudio. Also, I want to go with a DSLR over a point and shoot because the image quality is important to me. Is there any other camera that is better than the D3200 that you would recommend for me?
2»

Comments

• edited August 2014
    bruto, that picture you posted of that ring, how did you get that blurred background?
  • edited August 2014
    How come on B&H it says 1 year warranty, and on Adorama it says 1 year on the camera and 5yrs on the lens? So on B&H is the one year warranty on the camera lens or both?
  • edited August 2014
    A: The blurred background on the shot was from shooting with the lens wide open and close up. Depth of field is less when the aperture is large, and decreases logarithmically with distance. At normal distances the kit lens is a bit slow and tends not to give a terribly pleasing out of focus background. This one reason many people like the fast 35mm and 50mm prime lenses for portraits and the like, but this one still allows some manipulation of depth of field at close distances.

B: The standard warranty is one year, but Nikon offers an extension to 5 years on the lens. Mine came with that added warranty, as did the 55-300mm I got at the same time. The link to the specs on the lens mentions it. You should get two warranty slips in the lens box.
  • edited August 2014
    I’m pretty sure B&H also offers the same 5 year warranty on the lens. If you open the link for the lens on their page, it says it has the 5 year warranty.

To understand how to blur backgrounds, see the last 3 links over here:
    http://forums.cameratips.com/discussion/2177/simple-explanations-with-examples-of-basic-photography-knowledge

BTW, you may want to check out the deals here: