D3200 for taking shots of jewelry

edited August 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Is the D3200 a good camera for taking shots of jewelry? Is the 18-55mm the right lens for it? If not, then which one?

I have no photography experience but I need to take nice photos of jewelry, so I'm going to get that table top studio from mystudio. Also, I want to go with a DSLR over a point and shoot because the image quality is important to me. Is there any other camera that is better than the D3200 that you would recommend for me?

Comments

• edited August 2014
    The D3200 is a great camera. Pair it with a suitable lens and you can shoot anything. Are there better cameras? Sure. After all, the D3200 is just Nikon’s entry level offering. In terms of price/performance ratio, this is an excellent choice.

The 18-55mm may be just fine for your purpose. It just needs good lighting for it to shine. Since you’re using the MyStudio thing, you should have sufficient lighting. If you feel like you need better details in your shots later on, then get a macro lens. Try it with the kit lens first to see if you’re happy with the results.
  • edited August 2014
    I think if you have enough light and your interest is product photography, the kit lens will probably be fine. It goes close, if not truly macro, and you probably won't need the bonus of a faster lens with its shallower depth of field.

Stick to RAW mode to get the sharpest results and to be able to fine-tune white balance and exposure after the fact without loss or compromise.

Remember too that if you're doing fairly static work, with time to set up and figure things out, the D3200 will accept nearly every lens Nikon ever made. Nothing but an AFS lens will auto focus on it and nothing but an AF lens will meter, but if you are willing to experiment with exposure and to manually focus a huge number of interesting and sometimes cheap lenses will fit. This may not be your cup of tea, but I just figured I'd mention that bonus.