Quick portrait tips in bright light

edited July 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I just purchased my first really nice digital camera, the Nikon DS-3200 and it is arriving tomorrow. I purchased it to take my daughters engagement pictures this weekend. I have a little photography experience, a few classes in college (portrait, black & white, and color) that I shot with a manual pentax , but it was in the early 90's before digital photography had truly began to take off. I am an illustrator by trade and have a considerable background in graphic design, so I know how to set up the shot, but I just am not familiar with f-stops, camera settings, etc.

I will be shooting in Lubbock, Tx. I am planning to get there around 7:00 pm to take advantage of the evening light (it's an 8 hr drive), but if it takes longer I will most likely be shooting in harsh sunlight the next day. I was hoping to get some tips on getting some really nice shots. I also purchased a tripod and cable release. I do not have any other lenses, only the one it is coming with. I hope to slowly add different lens's over the next few years. Additionally, how important is a light meter in taking nice portrait shots? Should I invest in one even though I have no idea how to use one?

Comments

• edited July 2014
    A dedicated light meter is probably not necessary because the camera actually has a light meter built-in. On higher-end bodies, you can have the light meter displayed permanently on the bottom part of your viewfinder. On the D3200, it only shows up when in M (Manual) Mode or if you’re over/under-exposed when in P, S, or A mode.

I would highly suggest you to try it out in M-mode. Adjust your aperture, shutter speed, and ISO and see how the light meter reacts. If the indicator is in the middle, that means you’ve got a good exposure.