Landscape lens

edited July 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi, I recently purchased the D3200 and I'm new to photography. I have purchased your cheat cards which have been of great help. I am interested in taking landscape shots (ie sunrise and sunsets) and would like to improve from the supplied lens.

What additional lens would you recommend?

Many thanks.

Comments

• edited July 2014
    While there are wider lenses available, I feel like the wide end of the 18-55mm kit lens to be sufficient for landscape photography. Since you generally shoot at a small aperture for landscapes anyway, it's not necessary to get an expensive large aperture lens. The 18-55mm is actually quite impressive in terms of sharpness and distortion control.
  • Hey @Bobbyball - Landscapes are a bit different than something like portraits. Generally for portraits you want to isolate the subject against a blurry background which requires a bright/fast lens to do it successfully in all lighting conditions. With landscapes, you want to get everything in focus, so paying for a bright/fast lens doesn't make much sense.

For landscapes, the most important pieces of gear are a steady tripod, a remote and possibly a ND and/or circular polarizing filter. When shooting sunrises and sunsets, you'll want to use the "HDR" cheat card in order to get both the sky and landscape well exposed. If you can avoid shooting directly into the sun, it will be easier to get everything nicely lit.

I agree with @ohyeahar, stick with the kit lens for now and invest in the other items I mentioned if you're interested in landscape photography. All the best!
  • edited April 2015