Tips for Nikon D7000

edited June 2014 Posted in » General Discussion
Hi Moose, I like your reviews and advice. First thing I noticed is the layout of this website - neat, tidy, fonts big enough yet crisp. I am a Nikon D7000 user, but don't get the thought that I am a pro; I am not. I am still trying to learn the basics of photography. I use the kit 18-105mm VR lens. While trying to purchase the camera, I searched for almost 5 months on almost all the forums to decide which camera should I choose. After all the time spent on the internet, I chose the Nikon D7000. Why? I am not among those who change their gadgets every now and then - no offense. I wanted a camera that I could keep for say 10 years, a camera that I couldn't outgrow anytime soon, a camera with commander mode, etc. Well now back to the question, could you kindly post Nikon D7000 tips, tricks and cheats?

Comments

• edited July 2014
    What kind of photography are you looking to do?

If you’ve not done so already, the best thing you can do is to get out of Auto mode. To do so, you must learn the basics of photography which is the exposure triangle. In order to fully utilize your gear, you must be able to answer these questions:
    1) What is aperture?
    2) What are the pro and cons of opening up and stopping down the aperture?
    3) What is shutter speed?
    4) What are the pros and cons of slow and fast shutter speeds?
    5) What is ISO?
    6) What are the pros and cons of high and low ISO’s?

Shoot in M mode. You can still utilize your camera’s light metering to get proper exposure if you turn on Auto ISO. That way, you can change your aperture and shutter speed combination to whatever you want and the camera will bump the ISO up or down to maintain proper exposure. Turn off Auto ISO when you feel comfortable metering the scene yourself. Doing so on the D7000 is super easy; just hold the ISO button and turn the front dial one click.