What's the best lens for wildlife?

edited March 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
Hi, I am new to my first Canon T2i. I have had it for several months and learning lots. I love taking photos of outdoors, nature, birds, landscapes, etc...

Lenses I have:
EF 50mm Canon f/1.4
EF-S 18-55mm Canon f/3.5-5.6
SP 10-24mm Tamron wide f/3.5-4.5
EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
EF L IS 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 (my favorite)

What I am looking at is the 70-200mm which is good for all in between photos. It gets heavy carrying all lenses for different situations. My husband is wonderful and carries them most of the time. Any ideas as to which lens is best for wildlife, they move to fast at times. Money is no problem. Thanks!

Comments

• edited March 2012
    Howdy @Idahogirl - Welcome to the forum! Of the 70-200mm lenses currently on the market, the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM (see here) is really the cream of the crop.

You get "L" quality glass which captures razor sharp details and beautiful color tonality...very similar to your 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L. This lens also comes equipped with USM for fast, accurate and silent focusing. It also has image stabilization which helps steady shots at a distance and helps minimize the effects of camera shake from sapping the sharpness from your shots.

If image stabilization isn't that big of deal to you, the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM (see here) is nearly identical in terms of sharpness, color tonality and performance (focus speed/accuracy) to the lens mentioned above, but much more affordable.

When it comes to wildlife, image stabilization really only helps when the subject is motionless (standing dear, perched eagle, etc...). If your trying to capture a bird in flight or an animal with lots of movement, then image stabilization really doesn't do much. In order to freeze subject movement and capture a tack sharp shot, you'll need to use faster shutter speeds (1/500 or higher).

Hope that all makes sense. Happy shooting! :)