Best lenses for Alaska trip

edited May 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi! I'm so glad I found this forum. Moose and friends, thank you for all the info, tips, and suggestions you provide. I'm a newbie to DSLR cameras and I just purchased a Nikon D3100 (motivated to do so by an upcoming trip to Alaska). I have three lenses now, and probably cannot afford to purchase a new one at this time. Based on some of the activities we'll be doing while in Alaska, I'll need to have lenses that are great for taking landscape and wildlife photos; who doesn't need that when going to Alaska, right? The three lenses I have are the Nikkor 18-55mm f/3-5.6G ED II (just bought Moose's cheat sheets for this lens), Nikkor 50-200mm f/4-5.6 G ED, and the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG. I will definitely be bringing the Nikkor 18-55mm lens since I have the cheat sheets for that and should be able to get some practice time using that lens before the trip. Any suggestions about which of the other two would be the better lens to bring? Also, any suggestions as to where I can find cheat sheet type info for these two lenses? I've been collecting all sorts of info about how SLR cameras work, the different lenses and how they work. There's just SO MUCH info and I don't have enough time to sort through it all and really learn it well before the trip. Any relevant suggestions and advice you can provide would be most welcome.

Comments

• edited May 2014
    Hi,
    Take your 18-55mm for the landscapes and take your 70-300mm for the wildlife. The 50-200mm is superfluous because its range is covered by the other two and you will not have so much weight to carry around.
    For a small cost it might be worth buying a polarizing filter. This will take the glare out of snow when the sun is shining.