Best lens for portraits and group shots

edited March 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
I was talking with a fellow T2i owner over on my Facebook page and she was wondering which lens would be best for shooting portraits and group shots. I thought it would be beneficial to share our conversation with all of you...

Tracy's Question: I have a T2i and am doing my best to learn how to use it to it's full potential (I'm an amateur, to say the least). I'm wondering about lenses (the Tamron 70-300-mm f/4 - 5.6 or the Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5 - 6.3). Which would you choose and why? Mostly I photograph the kids and family. Possibly some sports or dance recitals, but only on rare occasion. I'm leaning more towards the 18-270mm but not sure how much of a difference there is with them. Is the 300mm vs. 270mm a huge difference? As well as f/3.6 vs. 4? I just don't know enough about the features to choose wisely.

Moose's Answer: All-in-one lenses like the Tamron 18-270mm are great, because it gives you the ability to capture everything from wide-angle to telephoto all with a single lens. I use this lens anytime I'm on vacation and don't want to lug around a bunch of specialty lenses.