Shooting basketball games in a gym

edited December 2013 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hi,

I am hoping someone can shed some light on what I'm missing with my settings when I'm shooting my daughters basketball games. When I take the pictures they seem to come out dark and blurry even with the shutter speed set to 400.

I use the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G lens which I heard does not work well. I would be open to any recomendations on settings or tricks and even a new lens without breaking the bank.

Thank you in advance
David

Comments

• edited January 2014
    Hi David. I am not an expert by any means but I think it has more to do with that lens than anything else. My brother has has a Nikon D3200 with that lens and gets the same results indoors. I know that a faster lens will definitely help you but they do not come cheap.
    Maybe someone with more skills than I have can help you further with some tips on possible settings, but that lens seems best suited for outdoor shots.
  • edited December 2015
    Indoor settings need to be set for the setting and the action. You need to crank up the shutter spreed to 1000, which will make you to have a much higher ISO setting, up to 6400.

Also, when you are at the high end, 200mm, your lens is slower than at the low end, 55mm. Try taking shots at the lower end and cropping the photo in post.

Also, shoot in burst mode so you can have more keepers. If this does not work, buy a faster lens.
  • edited December 2015
    I am very green with my photography and am trying to figure out best way as well. I am trying to get out of auto mode and trying to make the lens I have (the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6) work for me until I can get one with a lower aperture. I am trying to go with a bit darker image and edit to lighten it up. I can make lighter but I can't get rid of blur. What I am still working on but have mine set at:
    S - shutter priority 1/500
    WB - incadescent
    Continuous shoot