Best Lens for Home Made Studio Portraits

edited August 2013 Posted in » Nikon Lens Talk
I am turning my spare room into a studio as cheap as possible, and I am a complete novice. Any tips on must haves? What lens would be recommended for taking portraits with my D3100?

Comments

• edited August 2013
    I too shoot with a D3100 and have converted my great room into my studio as I am learning to shoot in natural light. As I am learning to shoot in manual mode I am wondering what are the best settings for my lens. I currently have a 18-55mm, a 55-200mm and a fixed 35mm.
  • @pops - Must haves: Light, light and more light. In all seriousness, if you're setting up a studio, paint the walls white and if you can add a large window or two.

In addition to the natural light, in many cases you'll also need the assistance of some speedlights and/or some continuous lighting.

Once you've got the light sorted out, then focus on your lenses. To do it right, you need to shoot with a bright/fast lens...one that can attain apertures around f/1.8 or lower.

That should get you going in the right direction. Let me know if you have any other questions. All the best!
  • @Stacie - I would definitely shoot with the 35mm f/1.8G. The 18-55mm and 55-200mm lenses aren't great indoors or in low light.

As for settings, are you doing portrait, group (family) and/or product photography?
  • I am doing beauty portraits using natural light only and I only want to shoot in manual mode without a flash.
  • edited September 2013
    Just bought the Nikon 50m f/1.8 G and I've been practicing on the grandchildren in the garden, and really don't know the best distance to stand. Too close and I struggle to focus, but too far and there's too much background. Am I just being to picky? None of them look like good quality shots.
  • edited September 2013