First step towards exploring manual settings

edited March 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
I just bought a Canon 60D and so far am very happy with it. I wanted a higher end camera that would give me great pictures in 'Auto' when I just want to point & shoot. But...I'm past that now.

What should be my first step towards exploring manual settings and taking some practice shots. I was thinking Av mode would be a good start, but I need someone to point me in the right direction to begin my exploring. Total novice here. Coming from Canon SureShot and iPhone (LOL). Ya gotta start somewhere right?

Comments

• edited March 2012
    Hi @Reagan - Welcome to the forum. Yes Av mode is a good starting point. Think of it like your own eye.

When there is a lot of light the pupil narrows right down and when there is little light it widens up again. The aperture on a camera is it's pupil.

When there is little light you need to make the aperture wider and smaller when there is lots of light. However, the aperture is not as clever as the eye, it has to work in tandem with shutter speed and ISO.

Aperture behaves differently to the eye in terms of DOF (depth of field) ie. the zone in which objects will be in focus. If you are prepared to experiment then try the following.

1) Set your camera to Auto ISO (max 1600).

2) Forget about shutter speed for now as the camera will adjust your ISO and speed for you.

3) Choose a day when the light is fair (not too dull or dim).

4) If you have a tripod, one of those cheap table-top ones will do, mount your camera on it and switch the IS (image stabilizer) on the lens to off.

5) Now, about 3ft. in front of you, position three objects eg. plant pots, beer bottles in a diagonal line about 18 inches apart. Set the focus distance on the barrel to about 35. (focus on the middle object)