Canon 60D or Nikon D5200 for Wildlife Photography

edited October 2013 Posted in » General Discussion
I am a beginner who started clicking pictures 6 months ago using a Canon point and shoot SX160 and did really well (people feedback). Now I want to buy a DSLR.

My main areas of interest are wildlife and landscapes. I need a camera that shoots sharp images of birds and retains the nature's original color be it wildlife or landscapes. I was very happy with the Canon point and shoot because of the way it captured the nature's hues whenever I clicked landscapes.

As per my budget, I can either go for a Canon 60D or Nikon D5200. The entire internet talks about the D5200 being a great camera in that budget, but there is one thing about Nikon that bothers me a lot.

I examined that many mid range Nikon DSLR's give a blueish/greenish tinge to the photographs and I hate that. This is not the case with Canon. I read many reviews and few photographers have also written about this color effect with Nikon mid range DSLRs.

Hence I started thinking about Canon 60D. A lot of people have written about Nikon's ability to perform better than Canon in low light. Is that true and should someone actually leave Canon and buy Nikon for this advantage?

I am here to get a final expert opinion. I need a camera to get sharp birds in flight photos and landscape photos and I don't want any additional tinge other than the subject's and nature's actual color. Also, please advize me which lens would be better (keeping in mind I am a beginner with limited money) for bird in flight photography?

If I am going for Canon should I go for the kit lens EF S 18-200mm IS to begin with? I can't afford a 100-400mm as of now. My total budget for the camera and one lens is approximately $1500.

If there is another good lens ( be it Sigma or Tamron) in the same price/budget for bird-in-flight pics, do let me know.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• edited October 2013