How to Get Clear Action Shots of Animals With a Nikon J1?

edited February 2013 Posted in » General Discussion
I'm brand new to photography (so new I have never picked up a camera that is worth over $60), but I got fed up with my point-and-shoot and decided to endulge in a more sofisticated piece of equipment. I bought a Nikon J1; it's glass lens can go up to 60fps and is an interchangeable lens. My question is what settings should I use to get sharp action shots of animals? Mainly dogs running, jumping, doing agility, or just goofing around.

Comments

• edited February 2013
    @DogsDogsDogs, the Nikon J1 comes with a lens which is relatively wide angle. I don't know this specific camera, so my comments are general.

For sharp action shots you want to use a high shutter speed, something like 1/500th or even 1/1000th of a second in order to be able to freeze the action. In order to get proper exposure at such a high shutter speed, ideally you are in a brightly lit environment such as outdoors in bright daylight, not in a dark gymnasium. You can set your ISO higher, say up to ISO 400. At ISO 800 on such a small sensor, the images could start showing some nasty digital noise.

You should set your camera to Single Point AF mode in order to ensure your camera will be focusing on the right subject.

• edited February 2013
    Thanks amigo.

Pretty much all of my pictures are taken outside on a sunny day. I was beginning to be disappointed because its winter here and my photos were taken while overcast. I had all my settings to what you suggested, but it did worse than a point and shoot when I took photos of my dog running.

Indoors:
    http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h249/morleykerry/2012027-3.jpg

Overcast:
    http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h249/morleykerry/2012015-1.jpg