Newbie - hello and help! ;o) (A priority mode)

edited September 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi
I am the proud owner of a D3100 and have been keen on getting into photography for ages.

Anyhow, I've had my camera for over a week and have been taking some great pictures in Aperture priority mode.

Yesterday I wanted to take some backlit pictures of my children and I was playing with metering modes and got some ok pictures. But on finishing up I noticed that when I was in aperture priority mode the aperture was static whilst turning the lens and the shutter speed was changing as I was turning.

I have been through all the menus it seems and I have done both reset options, but still when I turn the lens in A mode the shutter speed changes but the f.stop number stays the same. This is probably why I'm not getting as sharp of pictures.

Any ideas? I am a complete newbie by the way and I think I have reset all my options, but I've clearly flicked something, somewhere.

Thanks in advance,
B

Comments

• edited September 2012
    Dont worry we all have to start somewhere in life. :)
    So you're in aperture priority mode, which means you control what f/stop you require. You have not clicked anything or pressed any buttons so no need to worry. When your in (A) mode You select the aperture with the thumb dial (as I call it). If you turn it you will see it goes all the way up to f/36 if your zoomed to 55mm.

The kit lens is an 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6; let me break that down. If your lens is at the widest setting (18mm) the lowest f/stop you can achieve is 3.5; f you were at 55mm it would be f/5.6. The lowest f/stop is the widest the lens will go (more light entering).

So when you're in aperture mode the camera decides the shutter speed to determine how much light is required for the correct exposure, and you decide what f/stop to choose.