Camera vs Lens

edited August 2012 Posted in » General Discussion
Hello!

I am new to the photography game, but I am working my way into this new world. I am already shooting out of program mode, with a Canon T2i. My favorite lens is the Nifty Fifty as of now, but I am looking forward to expanding.

I am noticing that my photos aren't as clear or crisp as I'd like them to be. In fact, I feel that sometimes I got more clear and crisp photos from my Canon Powershot, while shooting in Auto! I am saving my pennies for my next camera investment, and here goes my incredibly dumb question, I'm sure.

Is the quality of my photo based primarily on the camera I have, or the lens I'm using to take the photo? Obviously, I can spend oodles of money on amazing equipment (both on an expensive camera body and expensive lenses), but if I had to upgrade only one first to try and improve my picture quality, which should I look into? Any recommendations?

Thank you,
Erica

Comments

• edited August 2012
    Hi Erica
    Welcome to the forum and the world of digital photography. I am not quite sure what you mean by clear and crisp, but your T2i and the nifty fifty are capable of some stunning shots. I hesitate to say this as I don't want to cause offence, but it is possible that it is your technique that is lacking.
    When you say you are working in program mode, then you are actually using auto but with a little more control. However, in my experience, most people use program without taking advantage of the extra control.